Ubuntu GRUB Error

Marry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!šŸ™‚ I wish you good luck and successful new 2008! I haven’t blogged for a long time,but there’s always not much time for a post or the things I am doing are not so interesting.

Today I came to an interesting problem.After installing Windows Vista and Ubuntu 7.10 on my laptop (IBM T60) everything was working ok.I have checked both operating systems and they were functioning good.So after a few days not starting the system ,today I get the error before loading the OS:

GRUB Loading stage1.5

GRUB loading, please wait…

Error 17

After googling for a while I understand what was the problem –> Error 17 claims that the partition that you’re attempting to boot is of a format that GRUB does not recognize.

Here are some useful links from the Ubuntu forum that may help you solve your problem :

I solved my problem just by reinstalling Ubuntu.Infact my problem occured after I tried to merge 2 partition under Vista and I couldn’t do it.Therefore, I decided to reinstall Ubuntu and now I have the partitioning right -> 1 for Vista and 1 for Ubuntu!

Leave a Reply

